LibraryAid Logo LibraryAId

The short version

I'm a teacher, and I built LibraryAid for schools that want a library system and better reading engagement without a large annual quote. It is cloud-based, charges a flat fee per school rather than per student, and publishes its prices.

Accessit, Oliver and Reading Cloud are established products with real strengths. Oliver in particular offers MARC cataloguing and acquisitions tools that LibraryAid does not. The table shows where each one fits.

My view: if you run a primary or lower-secondary library and want students reading more, at a published price with a flat fee per school, LibraryAid is the best fit of the four. If your library needs MARC cataloguing or acquisitions tools, choose Oliver.

Where LibraryAid is different

Side-by-side comparison

What I compared LibraryAid Accessit Library Oliver v5 Reading Cloud
Price published on its site Yes, from $25 a month (£20) Not on the page I checked Not on the page I checked Not on the page I checked
Pricing model Flat fee per school. Not per student. Not stated Not stated Not stated
Cloud-based Yes Yes, described as cloud-based Web access from any device. Hosting model not described. Accessible from any device
MARC and Z39.50 cataloguing No Not stated Yes: MARC and non-MARC cataloguing, Z39.50 search and import Not stated. Staff add books by scanning an ISBN.
Circulation, reservations and overdue notices Yes: QR and barcode scanning, reservation queue, overdue email alerts, five reports Yes: circulation, overdue workflows, reporting, inventory, self-service kiosk Yes: loans, returns, reservations, overdue notices, self-checkout Library usage and popular-title reports
Student reading engagement AI book recommendations, points and rewards, genre shop, leaderboards, book reviews Search, browse and borrow approved resources, with curated displays Orbit student interface: loan history, recommended reading, reviews Avatars, friends, chat about books, reviews, similar-book recommendations
Reading comprehension tracking VIPERS quizzes with 30 AI-generated questions per book Not stated Not stated Not stated
Single sign-on and roster sync Clever and ClassLink Connects with approved SIS and SSO services. Products not named. Not stated SIMS integration for pupil accounts
Free trial 30 days, on request Not stated Not stated Not stated

"Not stated" means the vendor page I checked does not mention it. The product may still offer it. "Not on the page I checked" means I did not find a price there, and the vendor may quote one on request. Checked 19 October 2026.

Where the others are stronger

A budget option: Libib

Libib is a simpler tool worth knowing about. Its free plan covers up to 5,000 catalogue items but has no lending or patron management. Pro costs $9 a month or $99 a year and adds lending, holds and patron management. Its Ultimate plan, aimed at schools and districts, costs $900 a year and adds single sign-on with Google, ClassLink, Clever and Microsoft, a patron app and invoicing. Libib focuses on cataloguing and lending. It does not offer AI recommendations or comprehension tracking.

LibraryAid prices

One fee per school. Annual plans cost ten months' worth, so you save two months.

PlanStudentsRecommendations onlyWith cataloguing
IntroductoryUp to 200$25 a month or $250 a year
£20 or £200
$55 a month or $550 a year
£45 or £450
StandardUp to 500$50 a month or $500 a year
£40 or £400
$100 a month or $1,000 a year
£80 or £800
Premium Plus (per school)Unlimited$100 a month or $1,000 a year
£80 or £800
$175 a month or $1,750 a year
£140 or £1,400

Managing several schools? Email me about district pricing.

Which should you choose?

Short answer: LibraryAid for recommendations, comprehension and everyday circulation at a published price; Oliver for specialist cataloguing; Accessit or Reading Cloud if their particular strengths match your school.

Questions

Is LibraryAid a replacement for Accessit or Oliver?

For many primary and international schools, yes. LibraryAid covers cataloguing by barcode or QR code, checkout, reservations, overdue alerts and reports. It does not offer MARC cataloguing or Z39.50, so a library that depends on those should look at Oliver.

Can I move my existing catalogue across?

Yes. Upload a CSV with title, author, ISBN and quantity, or just title and author. You can also import your existing barcodes.

Can I try it before paying?

A 30-day free trial is available on request. No card is taken for the trial. Email me to request one.

Sources

Information about other products comes from each vendor's own pages, checked on 19 October 2026. Vendors change their products and prices, so please check their sites. If anything here is out of date, email me and I will correct it.

Accessit, Oliver, Reading Cloud and Libib are trademarks of their respective owners. LibraryAid is not affiliated with them.

See the full plans, or ask for a 30-day trial.

View Pricing